Home » Sports » Lester goes to the Cubs Six-year, $155 million

Lester goes to the Cubs Six-year, $155 million

Start here


The most sought after free agent finally has a new home…Jon Lester formerly of the Boston Red Sox and the Oakland A’s will now call Chicago home. He agreed to a 6 year 155 million deal with the Cubs.  From published reports the bidding war for Lester was six-year, $155 million  for the lefty. The other teams in the hunt for Lester were … San Francisco Giants, who had agreed to offer Lester a seven-year deal for around $168 million, and Lester’s longtime team, the Boston Red Sox, who were runners-up after a final offer of six years and $135 million, according to sources. The Los Angeles Dodgers entered the foray late in the process, too, and presented an offer similar to the Cubs’, but Lester chose to reunite with Chicago president Theo Epstein and general manager Jed Hoyer, the executives who drafted him in Boston. So why the Cubs?

I want to feel wanted,” Lester said at the outset of free agency. “I want to go to a place that appreciates what I do on the field and off the field, as far as with our charitable work, how we represent the team in the community.”

“The thing I liked about ’em is it wasn’t forced and wasn’t a sales pitch,” Lester said after his meeting with the Cubs. “It was like, ‘This is what we can do.’ I don’t want BS. I don’t want show. I don’t want glitz and glamour. I don’t want to walk out to the field with your name and number on the JumboTron. I’m not 18 anymore. I want you to tell me what you can do for me and my family.”

With Lester off the board expect Max Scherzer and other pitchers to be in play as teams look to deal and sign free agents now that one of the bog pieces has now come off the board.

2 Comments

  1. As s Yankees fan better Lester went to the Cubbies instead of the dreaded Red Sox

    • bklynboy59 says:

      I thought Lester was a better fit for the Yankees ready to win now team than a up and coming Cubs team but…I did see Lester thrown a No hotter live at Fenway Park vs the Royals…

Leave a Reply

