Home » Sports » Smallthoughts: Rants and Raves

Smallthoughts: Rants and Raves

Start here


Rants:Florida State…29 game win streak over and they didn’t look good in the process. The defending champs turned over the ball to Oregon in the second almost at will. Not the way you expected the defending champs to go out. If this was boxing this would be a knockout.

Rants:New York Yankees …Hey anybody knows who is pitching for the Yankees this year but I don’t anyone knows. Hideki Kuroda left for Japan, Shawn Kelly was traded to the Padres, CC Sabathia is recovering from injury as well as Tanaka. This is one of those rare times that the Yankees appear to have no answers for pitching unless they plan to over pay for Max Scherzer.

Rants:New York Knicks …How awful is this team? Seriously? Phil it’s time to start moving players that don’t fit the triangle and maybe time to evaluate your head coach. But please do something this is getting more and more embarrassing every game. 11 rings to maybe 11 wins????

Raves: Los Angeles Clippers Assistant coach Mike Woodson…when asked about his former team the New York Knicks demise this season , he could have gloated yet Woodson showed his class and took the high road …“I don’t wish losing on anyone. I still have players I coached on that team I have a great deal of respect for. I hate to see them going through what they’re going through.’’ “Nobody likes to lose their job,’’ Woodson said. “I would have loved to stay in New York. Things change, man. Those are things you can’t control. When I looked back, it was a great experience. I have a great deal of respect for Mr. Dolan, [Glen] Grunwald and Mike D’Antoni, who gave me an opportunity when I was let go in Atlanta.

“It was a big dream come true to be able to circle back after being drafted by the Knicks. I never thought it would happen. It was a wonderful experience. You guys might not think that, but for me it was.”

Raves: Oregon Ducks…Did Florida State get the number of that truck the ran past them? The Ducks took flight to the tune of 59 points on their way to the National Title game January 12th. The win seals any talk about which Quarterback teams will likely take first in the draft between Jameis Winston and  Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Marcus Mariota.

Raves: NHL…Winter Classic…it’s not often the NHL makes it on my Rants and Raves but I have to hand it to them, the Winter Classic has turned out to be a good watch for the NHL. I found myself watching once I was flicking the channels and came across the game and then saw the winning goal with laess than 30 seconds left for the win. Who knew Hockey outdoors would be fun to watch?

Leave a Reply

